Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Quinton de Kock and Morris called in for second Test against England

The Cricket South Africa (CSA) national selectors on Wednesday added The Unlimited Titans duo of Quinton de Kock and Chris Morris to the Proteas squad for the second Sunfoil test match against England, starting at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday.

The Proteas were thumped by 241 runs by England in the first test at Kingsmead in Durban.



Following our performance and injuries in the first test, we have recognised the need to bolster the squad.


said Linda Zondi, CSA Convener of Selectors.

“This will provide us with more selection options for the second test match at Newlands,” added Zondi.

De Kock scored a century for the Titans in their recent Sunfoil Series clash against the Cape Cobras while Morris made 86 runs in his only innings and took 3 wickets.

South Africa were thoroughly beaten by England in the first Test – losing by 214 runs – and there are some big question marks hanging over the heads of the middle order. Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy and Temba Bavuma have all struggled.

Just two of South Africa’s players, AB de Villiers and Dean Elgar average above 40.00 this year. Bavuma has the fourth highest average overall at 22.50 with Faf du Plessis on 16.75 and JP Duminy on 14.00 two of the weakest links. Du Plessis and Bavuma have both scored half centuries this year while Duminy has not managed to go past the 35-run mark.

Duminy has often contributed with the ball, but he has not bowled much recently, leaving his role in the team in serious doubt. At the post-match interview, coach Russell Domingo would not be pressed into outrightly stating that De Kock would keep wicket in the next Test, but if South African selectors have even an inkling of logic, De Kock should come in to replace Duminy.

South Africa squad - Hashim Amla (c), AB de Villiers, Kyle Abbott, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl.

Rate this article: