Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

England to host Sri Lanka and Pakistan in 2016

England are to play three home tests against Sri Lanka next year and four against Pakistan.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka will attract strong support from their own communities in this country

- England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) chief executive officer Tom Harrison said in a statement on Tuesday.

The home team will bid to avenge last year's 1-0 test series defeat by Sri Lanka in matches in Leeds, Durham and Lord's.

Pakistan, who are also England's opponents in a three-test series in the United Arab Emirates in October, will play tests at Lord's, Manchester, Birmingham and The Oval.

"(Captain) Alastair Cook was absolutely right to acknowledge the contribution of England's fans to our Ashes success," added Harrison in reference to the 3-2 victory over Australia in the series that ended on Sunday.

"They have been unwavering in their support this summer and we would urge as many as possible to return to our international venues next summer."

England will also take on both Sri Lanka and Pakistan in five one-day internationals and a Twenty20 match.

Sri Lanka in England and Ireland 2016

May 4: Sri Lanka arrive
May 8-10: Essex, Chelmsford
May 13-15: Leicestershire, Grace Road
May 19-23: 1st Investec Test, Headingley
May 27-31: 2nd Test, Chester-le-Street
June 9-13: 3rd Test, Lord's
June 16: 1st ODI v Ireland, TBC
June 18: 2nd ODI v Ireland, TBC
June 21: 1st Royal London ODI, Trent Bridge
June 24: 2nd ODI, Edgbaston
June 26: 3rd ODI, Bristol
June 29: 4th ODI, Kia Oval
July 2: 5th ODI, Cardiff
July 5: NatWest T20, Ageas Bowl

Pakistan in England and Ireland 2016

June 29: Pakistan arrive
July 3-5: Somerset, Taunton
July 8-10: Sussex, Hove
July 14-18: 1st Investec Test, Lord's
July 22-26: 2nd Test, Old Trafford
July 29-30: Worcestershire, Worcester
Aug 3-7: 3rd Test, Edgbaston
Aug 11-15: 4th Test, Kia Oval
Aug 18: 1st ODI v Ireland, TBC
Aug 20: 2nd ODI v Ireland, TBC
Aug 24: 1st Royal London ODI, Ageas Bowl
Aug 27: 2nd ODI, Lord's
Aug 30: 3rd ODI, Trent Bridge
Sep 1: 4th ODI, Headingley
Sep 4: 5th ODI, Cardiff
Sep 7: NatWest T20, Old Trafford

Source - Reuters

Rate this article: