Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Cricket South Africa name squads for Bangladesh series

Cricket South Africa (CSA) today named four uncapped players in the Test match format in the Castle Lager Proteas squad for the two-match series in Bangladesh in July and August.

They are the Knights opening batsman, Reeza Hendricks, Nashua Cape Cobras wicketkeeper, Dane Vilas, and the bizhub Highveld Lions duo of spinner, Aaron Phangiso, and fast bowler, Kagiso Rabada.

All four have previously represented the Proteas in the limited overs formats.

“The changes have been brought about partly by the retirement of Alviro Petersen and the non-availability of AB de Villiers who has been granted paternity leave,” explained CSA selection convener, Andrew Hudson. “Reeza and Stiaan van Zyl are both options to open the batting and Stiaan can also be used in AB’s batting position in the middle-order. Dane provides us with the wicketkeeping cover that would normally also be AB’s responsibility.

“Aaron gives us a left-arm spin bowling option and we see this as the ideal opportunity to involve Kagiso in the Test team environment once again, so he will be the back-up fast bowling option.”

Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander are being rested for the three-match ODI Series and the players brought in are fast bowlers, Chris Morris of The Unlimited Titans and Rabada, as well as the Sunfoil Dolphins all-rounder, Ryan McLaren. The remainder of the squad that went to the ICC World Cup has been retained.

The bizhub Highveld Lions leg-spinner, Eddie Leie, is the only uncapped player included in the Ticketpros Proteas T20 squad. Again a number of senior players have been rested including Steyn, Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir.

“With next year’s ICC World Twenty20 to be played in India we need to explore our bowling options under sub-continent conditions,” commented Hudson. “Morris has done well in the IPL as have David Wiese and Beuran Hendricks and this tour represents an important opportunity to broaden their international playing experience.”

Proteas Test squad: Hashim Amla (Nashua Cape Cobras, capt), Dean Elgar (The Unlimited Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Faf du Plessis (The Unlimited Titans), Stiaan van Zyl (Nashua Cape Cobras), JP Duminy (Nashua Cape Cobras), Quinton de Kock (The Unlimited Titans), Vernon Philander (Nashua Cape Cobras), Dale Steyn (Nashua Cape Cobras), Morne Morkel (The Unlimited Titans), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Simon Harmer (Warriors), Temba Bavuma (bizhub Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Dane Vilas (Nashua Cape Cobras).

Proteas ODI squad: AB de Villiers (The Unlimited Titans, capt), Hashim Amla (Nashua Cape Cobras, vice-capt), Quinton de Kock (The Unlimited Titans), Faf du Plessis (The Unlimited Titans), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), JP Duminy (Nashua Cape Cobras), David Miller (Sunfoil Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (The Unlimited Titans), Chris Morris (The Unlimited Titans), Morne Morkel (The Unlimited Titans), Imran Tahir (Sunfoil Dolphins), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Wayne Parnell (Nashua Cape Cobras), Ryan McLaren (Sunfoil Dolphins).

Proteas T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (The Unlimited Titans, capt), Quinton de Kock (The Unlimited Titans), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), AB de Villiers (The Unlimited Titans), JP Duminy (Nashua Cape Cobras), David Miller (Sunfoil Dolphins), David Wiese (The Unlimited Titans), Chris Morris (The Unlimited Titans), Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Eddie Leie (bizhub Highveld Lions), Wayne Parnell (Nashua Cape Cobras), Beuran Hendricks (Nashua Cape Cobras).

Bangladesh tour Itinerary

05 July 2015: 1st T20 International, Dhaka
07 July 2015: 2nd T20 International, Dhaka
10 July 2015: 1st ODI, Dhaka
12 July 2015: 2nd ODI, Dhaka
15 July 2015: 3rd ODI, Chittagong
21 July 2015: 1st Test, Chittagong
30 July 2015: 2nd Test, Dhaka

Source - Cricket South Africa

Rate this article: