Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Sri Lanka announce squad for First India Test

Sri Lanka have named all-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva and pacer Nuwan Pradeep in the squad for the first Test match against India, in Galle.

Sri Lanka have handed a Test debut to 30-year-old left-arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara.

De Silva will take the place of Dinesh Chandimal, while Pushpakumara takes place of left-arm wrist spinner Lakshan Sandakan and Pradeep comes in place of Dushmantha Chameera.

Sri Lankan debutant Pushpakumara has had a huge experience at the first-class level. He has taken 558 first-class wickets at an average of 19.85 and has been consistently ranked among the top three wicket-takers in the Premier League Tournament.

De Silva’s place in the squad was pretty much expected as Chandimal was recently diagnosed with pneumonia and was hospitalized on Friday.

Rangana Herath has already been declared as the captain for the first Test match that starts on Wednesday.

Sri Lanka squad for first Test
Rangana Herath (capt), Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara, Nuwan Pradeep.

Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket App, for Android and iOS!

Rate this article: