Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket

South Africa make major changes to T20 squad

South Africa have announced their T20 squad for their series against Sri Lanka.

South Africa have made some major changes as they have rested all their senior players.

Farhaan Behardien will be captaining the squad which will feature 6 uncapped players.

Linda Zondi, convener of selector said,



We have decided to rest some of our key senior players for this series. This is the last chance we have to do this as the ODI series that follows is an important part of our build-up to the Champions Trophy tournament in England in the middle of the year.



She further said, “Those senior players who are involved in the Indian Premier League will be playing non-stop from now until the end of August with the tours coming up to New Zealand and England in addition to the ICC event.”

Kyle Abbott, Rilee Rossouw and David Wiese were not considered because both have recently signed Kolpak deals to play in county cricket.

South Africa are currently dominating Sri Lanka. They have already won the 3 Test series 2-0, with one to go. 

South Africa T20 squad: 

Farhaan Behardien (capt), Theunis de Bruyn, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heino Kuhn, David Miller, Mangaliso Mosehle, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Jon-Jon Smuts

FastLite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!


Rate this article: