Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

South Africa announce their squad for champions trophy

South Africa have recalled fast bowler Morne Morkel and included the uncapped spinner Keshav Maharaj in their squad for the Champions Trophy.

There was no place for Dale Steyn, who will continue his recovery from injury.

AB de Villiers is fit to captain, despite injuries disrupting his participation at the IPL, while South Africa have also icluded bowling allrounders in Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo and Dwaine Pretorius. 

Maharaj has won his maiden ODI call up, edging out left-arm wristspinner Shamsi as support for Imran Tahir, after impressing with the Test side. 

SA convener of selector, Linda Zondi, said,





We have been working with this group of players for the last two seasons where our key emphasis has been consitency in selection.That has shown in how this group has performed over the last while, which has resulted in winning three consecutive ODI series.




South Africa ODI squad
Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (c), JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Keshav Maharaj, Dwaine Pretorius, Farhaan Behardien, Morne Morkel

Fast. Lite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: