Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket

South Africa announce ODI squad for tour of New Zealand

South Africa have announced their ODI squad for their tour of New Zealand.

Newbie bowler Lungi Ngidi has not recovered from the injury he sustained during the 3rd T20 against Sri Lanka and has been ruled out of the series.

Batsman David Miller, who injured his finger and has been ruled out of the rest of the Sri Lanka series has recovered and has been included in the squad.

Bowler Dwaine Pretorius will sit out the only T20 and 1st ODI as he awaits the birth of his 1st child.

Dane Paterson will go as a replacement and will return once Pretorius joins the squad.

South Africa are finally comfortable with their team selection as they have played with more or less the same XI for the past 2 series and succeeded greatly.

They whitewashed Australia at home 5-0 and are currently leading 4-0 against Sri Lanka with 1 more game to go.

Linda Zondi, South Africa's convener of selectors said,



We, as selectors are very happy with the way the squad has gelled over the past 6 months and consistency in selection is very important as we continue our build-up towards the ICC Champions Trophy tournament.



South Africa’s tour consists of 1 T20, 5 ODIs and 3 Tests, starting off with the T20 on February 17, 2017.

South Africa squad: 

AB de Villiers (c), Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wk), JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi

FastLite. Innovative. Shareable. Download  our  HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: