Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket
Due to some technical problems, we are unable to cover live matches on our site and app. We are working on it and will be back soon. Please stay tuned for more.

Sanath Jayasuriya to return back as Chairman of Sri Lanka's selection committee


Former Sri Lanka captain Sanath Jayasuriya is all set to return as the chairman of the senior selection committee taking over from Aravinda De Silva, who performed his duties as a stop-gap arrangement. 

The 46-year-old Jayasuriya had stepped down from the post last year.

SLC president Thilanga Sumathipala has been quoted , thereby confirming the development.


As such, we are expecting to appoint Sanath Jayasuriya as the new chairman of selectors.


Former wicketkeeper-batsman Romesh Kaluwitharana and former offspinner Ranjith Madurasingha are also expected to be part of the committee, according to SLC vice president Mohan de Silva.

It has been learnt that Jayasuriya will remain at the as the chairman of the committee till 2019 World Cup as Sri Lankan cricket is going through a tough transition phase.

Jayasuriya was previously the chairman of the senior selection committee from January 2013 to March 2015 during which Sri Lanka won the T20 World cup in 2014 and a Test series in England before exiting at the quarter-final stage of the 2015 World cup.

Rate this article: