Holdingwilley The second best way to enjoy cricket

India announce squad for one-off Test against Bangladesh

India have announced their Test squad for their one-off Test against Bangladesh.

Opening batsman Abhinav Mukund has been recalled to the squad after a gap of 6 years.

However, it’s unlikely that he will feature in the Playing XI as India’s opening batsmen Murali Vijay and KL Rahul are both fit.

India have named a 16-man squad, with the likes of M Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Jayant Yadav, Hardik Pandya and Wriddhiman Saha returning from injuries.

Because of Saha’s return, Parthiv Patel who had filled in as a wicketkeeper has been left out of the squad, along with Manish Pandey.

Although Parthiv performed well with the bat during the England series, he lost out to Saha due to his bad glovework.

Chief selector MSK Prasad said,



Parthiv's glovework has definitely improved. But Saha has got better hands and that's where he scores little more points than Parthiv.



Test squad:

Virat Kohli (c), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Abhinav Mukund, Hardik Pandya

FastLite. Innovative. Shareable. Download our HW Cricket app!

Rate this article: